Benefits of Juicing

I always wonder how many people actually stick to their New Year’s Resolution when it comes to getting healthy or losing weight. I’m pretty sure it’s about that time of year when people have gotten bored with their fitness routine or new diet. However, with spring break just around the corner, some might feel the pressure to get back on track with a healthy lifestyle. A lot of my friends have jumped on the juicing bandwagon so I thought I’d do a little research and try it out for myself.

Woodson Merrell, M.D., wrote a great article for the Huffington Post about how just a 3-day juice cleanse is all you need to help kick-start a new healthy eating lifestyle. He gives a dozen or so ways that juicing can help boost your health. He asserts that juicing rests the stomach and the liver and also helps reduce your appetite. By only eating fresh produce, juicing helps eliminate harmful foods and ease your food decision-making process. He also claims juicing helps boost your energy, makes you lose weight and gives you tons of the nutrients your body needs, just to name a few. You can read the whole article on The Huffington Post here.

I decided that the only way to know if juicing was for me was to try it out. So I borrowed my friends juicer and began looking for recipes for healthy juices online.

IMG_4342.jpg

The great thing about juicing is that you don’t really have to follow a recipe as long as you’re only using fresh fruits and veggies. I just used whatever I had in my fridge, which turned out to be a lot of spinach, carrots, blackberries, clementines, apples and grapefruit.

Another benefit of homemade juicing is that it is a lot cheaper than buying juice at the store. It’s also an easy way to use up your produce before it goes bad.

IMG_4340.jpgSince almost 65% of Americans are overweight or obese (Indiana is 8th worst in the United States) switching to a plant-based diet can really help you get back to a healthier lifestyle and trying out juicing is the perfect way to start.

Leave a Reply

