“I’m Giving Up Fourth Meal For Lent”

Fourth Meal

Since today is marks the celebration of Mardi Gras, I’m sure you’ve heard the following question at least once today, “What are you giving up for Lent?” Lent is the six and a half week period before Easter that begins on Ash Wednesday, which happens to be tomorrow. In the past there was a strict fast that was imposed during this time but today people typically use it as a way to give up some luxury.

I stopped several students on campus to see what they were planning on giving up and the answers were varied but almost all of them had one thing in common– food. One girl is giving up Diet Coke, or crack in a can, as she called it. Another was giving up meat and yet another was going to try “the whole gluten-free thing”. From giving up sweets to carbohydrates, everyone seems to be using Lent as a way to kick-start a healthier way of eating. Since I believe a healthy mind begins with a healthy body, I applaud people for giving up something they love in order to better themselves.

One girl in particular gave such a puzzling answer that I had to ask her to elaborate more. Lexie Johnson is a senior in Mass Communications and was nice enough to let me interview her about what she’s decided to give up for Lent this year.

Claire File: Do you have anything in particular that you’re giving up for Lent this year?

Lexie Johnson: I’ve actually given it a lot of thought and I’m going to give up Fourth Meal, which is when you go to Taco Bell between the hours of dinner and breakfast time.

CF: That’s definitely the most interesting answer I’ve heard today. May I ask why you’ve decided to give that up?

LJ: Taco Bell is a late-night addiction that I indulge in at least three times a week so I expect it’s going to be really difficult. I’m trying to live a healthier lifestyle and I hope that once I’m able to break this habit it’ll make a big difference.

CF: Which menu item do you think you’re going to miss the most?

LJ: It’s probably a tie between the Smothered Burrito and the Dorito’s Locos Tacos.

CF: How do you think Taco Bell’s new breakfast menu will impact your success in this?

LJ: My goal is to eventually try everything on the menu so I’m a little upset that I’ll have to wait until after Easter to try the waffle taco.

Lexie’s plan inspired me to try to give up my favorite fast-foods too in the hopes of being a little healthier. Do your plans for Lent involve giving up a certain fatty guilty pleasure as well?

Leave a Reply

